What are the two categories of DanceSport?

There are two main international styles of Dancesport – Standard (which used to be called “modern”) – Waltz, Slow Foxtrot, Tango, Quickstep & Viennese waltz and Latin American – Cha Cha Cha, Samba, Rumba, Paso Doble & Jive.

What are the 2 categories of dance sports?

WDC International style dances – Within World Dance Council international competitions are two categories of dances, Ballroom (also called Standard or Modern) and Latin.

What are the characteristics of dance sports?

DanceSport is what used to be referred to as competitive Ballroom Dancing, renamed to suit its modern image as a demanding sport. Characteristics consist of physical strength, agility, co-ordination, stamina, high level of fitness, discipline, teamwork, grace, style and musical interpretation.

What are the 2 major classification of ballroom dance?

There are two main schools of ballroom dance: the American style, and the International style, each with its own types of dances and competitions.

How are the dance styles in ballroom categorized to?

American SmoothAmerican Rhythm
Viennese WaltzMambo

How many DanceSport are there?

Competitions consist of five Standard Dances – the White Waltz, Tango, Viennese Waltz, Foxtrot, Quickstep.

What are the different dance sports styles?

  • International Style Latin. Samba, Cha Cha Cha, Rumba, Paso Doble, Jive.
  • International Style Standard. Waltz, Tango, Viennese Waltz, Slow Foxtrot, Quickstep.
  • American Smooth. Waltz, Tango, Foxtrot, Viennese Waltz.
  • Carribean Mix. Salsa , Merengue , Bachata.


DanceSport music – Latin Cha Cha Non Stop Instrumental

Most Popular Latin Dances (3 Categories)

Dance with Me – Classes for ages 18 months to 2 years

Other Articles

What makes Paso Doble music unique?

Is there dancing in ballet?

Did Christopher Walken do his own dancing in weapon of choice?

How does choreography relate to dance?

Is the Atlas robot real?